In my senior year of high school one guy friend used a part of a dialogue in the movie EuroTrip between the characters of Jenny, Scott and Cooper to reffer to my friendly relationship between the guys in my group and me. The conversation goes like this:

     Jenny: “Hello, I’m a girl.”

     Scott: “No you’re not.”

     Cooper: “Yeah. You’re a cool guy with long hair.”

     But it wasn’t always like this for me in any school. I’ve always been an introvert and suffer-in-silence type of girl, specially in school, making it difficult for me to make friends. As I grew up I’d hear older people saying that their high school years were the best years of their lives. As a child I thought that nothing besides education could come from school. Sometimes I thought they said such things because the were happy in school and had many friends, which was the exact opposite of me in elementary school and junior high school; but things changed in high school.

     I spent most of my summer vacation in 2002, before I began high school, getting mentally prepared to begin another stage in my life. Beads of sweat would form in my forehead and sometimes I’d bite my fingernails just by thinking of high school. On the first day of high school, in 10th grade, I was hyperventilating because no one I knew was going to be with me in the same classroom. I was the first student in the big and empty of people classroom, minutes later the classroom was filled with seventeen guys as they marched through the door one by one, and just one girl: me. I knew I was going to be the only girl in the group because this group was a vocational course called Technological Preparation, a course very unpopular with girls which gets three girls maximun some years.

     Tenth grade went normal for me: boring, not talking to anyone and being all of my free time alone doing homework or studying. As the year passed I opened up to my classmates and by the end of this school year I called most of them my friends. I even started conversations with them and spent time with them. I remember they’d tell jokes that most of them were out of line, the so called “red jokes” of sexual concepts or double meaning. When one of the guys said one of these jokes, or a “bad” word, when I was present one of them would say: “Hey, can’t you see there’s a lady present?”

     A day I’ll never forget is the first day of the school year in 2004, my senior year. It was the lunch hour of that hot summer day in August, I was with some of my friends, all boys, sitting under the cool shade of the big tree behind the school cafeteria talking about movies and they were telling jokes. I can’t remember the double meaning jokes, but I remember a conversation.

     Xavier said to Angelo “Deborah’s here, show some respect man.”

     “I know.” Angelo rolled his eyes. “It’s just that I feel that Deborah is like the girl from the movie EuroTrip. You know a cool guy with long hair.”

     “What do you mean? What movie is that?” I asked Angelo frowning at him.

     “What, you haven’t seen that movie? It’s like the funniest movie of the year.”

     Xavier, Angelo, Jonathan, Ruben and Roberth started telling me about the movie EuroTrip laughing so hard about it that I said that I wanted to see it. So next day Jonathan lent it to me. That same day I watched it. It was a very funny movie all the way, and some parts were disgustingly funny.

    So many other things happened that made me laugh and enjoy my time in high school. Out of all of those cherished memories, this one will stay in my mind for years to come. Now I can say that the high school years were the best years of my life.