I don’t want to brag, but I speak English almost to a 100% fluently. Many people have asked me if English is my first language and if I’ve lived in the United States for at least a year. The answer to both questions is no. I learned watching movies.

As any other child, the thing I wanted to do most was watching television. I couldn’t get enough Disney movies or cartoons. Watching so many movies is how I learned to fluently speak English. Really, I did! Watching them in English with Spanish subtitles helped me a lot, adding English class in school of course. My mother says that I was always interested in the language and tried my hardest to learn it really well. I never had special classes on learning a new language, the movies just helped me.

It is the same with Japanese. I don’t speak Japanese as I’d like, but I recognize many words when I hear them. It is thanks to Anime, Japanese animation. My best firned from junior high school introduced me to the world of Anime with Pokemon. She was such a fan of Pokemon that she even had a book with the Pokemons and a very detailed information on them. She wouldn’t leave me alone until I’d memorized them in the orther presented in the book. Fortunately the book was up to 151 Pokemons, now it’s like over 600.

Becuase I liked Anime I learned to enjoy best watching movies or tv shows in their original language with subtitles in Spanish, except movies that are originally in English or, of course, Spanish.