What is death? Death is the end of life, the full cessation of vital functions in a biological organism. This is the definition of a dictionary. My definition of death is this “For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.” the apostle Pablo said this in Philippians 1:21. Some people say, and I agree with them, that there is only one thing for certain in life, and that is death. All living things eventually die.

Socrates said “Death may be the greatest of all human blessings.” I agree with this. Death is unknown, whether there is life or not beyond death is an individual belief. I think that people fear death because they are too attached to the things they have in this world and then they neglect the spiritual things and miracles that they might have witnessed, like I have. When I was a child I thought that the most important thing was money and toys. I was always worrying about my things, that no one touched them without my permission. As I was growing I learned that the material things that I had weren’t the most important thing, but my family and friends. Sadly I learned this the hard way. One of my grandfathers died when I was almost five years old and I loved him dearly

I treasure the most what says in Philippians 1:21 because I truly believe this. I believe what the teachings of the Pentecostals teach in church that there is life beyond death. Not because I was raised to believe it, but because I have witnessed some miracles that had made me believe in this. To mention only one miracle, I’ll mention myself. My mother told me once that when I was about six months old I became sick, I lost a lot of weight, was dehydrated and was very pale. I was hospitalized for three days when the doctors told my mother to call the family so they could see me one last time, because they wern’t sure how much longer I could survive. That same day my mom went to the hospital’s chapel and prayed to God. She said that she told Him that if he wanted he could take me, but if it was in his grace to let me live she would lead me in his path. Doctors said it was a miracle that I survived and became healthy in a few days later. And my mom wasn’t a Christian by that time. I have heard doctors say “I can’t do anything more. Only God can help you.” or something like this. The most amazing thing for me about this is that most of those doctors aren’t God believers.

For people to know and choose to believe, or not, if there is life or not beyond death we, the Pentecostals, go with the commandment where Jesus tells us to “Go around the world and preach the evangelism to everyone.” (Marcus 16:15). All around the Bible the prophets, apostles, Jesus and God tell us to preach God’s message of salvation, which means that there is life beyond death. We try to give and present them with facts and proof. Some people believe in what we say, others don’t, but we don’t force them like some other religions.

I write this not to make the reader believe because I want them to believe, but as a part of what I’ve lived and believe. I have written part of what I believe of what is death and what I think is beyond death. I want to finish this saying that God never fails, we might think that he does, but I have witnessed that he never fails or comes late. I believe that God has a purpose for everyone, it is in us to accept it or not.